JTB Home 

What's New 

Release Notes 





Why Visitors? 

Other Tools 

User Comments 

  • Selected Quotes
  • Questionnaires


    Special Edition for GJ 

  • JavaCC
  • Design Patterns
  • Javasoft
  • GJ
    Jump to Java! 
    In April 1998, we decided to seek user feedback and comments regarding JTB.  We created a questionnaire and sent it to several JTB users, displayed it on the JTB website, and posted it to the JavaCC mailing list.  Below are the replies that we received.  If you would like to respond to the questionnaire, please follow this link

    Sriram Sankar, President of Metamata Inc. and one of the creators of JavaCC was kind enough to write us a letter of support and recommendation.  You can read it here

    Selected Quotes

    "My students and I have been using your JTB to build an analysis tool as part of my coupling-based testing research project.  Great tool, thanks!" - Jeff Offutt 

    "1) It was easy to use right out of the box, 2) It has always worked as expected, 3) It does everything I need it to." - Steve Odendahl 

    "My experiments suggest that, generally, JTB is very adequate for my applications. Undoubtedly, JTB is one of the best Java tools I have seen." - Sujoy Mitra 

    "The reason I found myself searching for JTB again was that I could not think of any way to redo the work using the Visitor design pattern, *without* making any hand-modifications to the grammar.  This was very important to me, not making any modifications. . . JTB's Visitor system is extremely logical, easy to get to grips with, and then to write for." - Sandy Anderson 

    "JTB is a delightfully elegant 3rd party Abstract Syntax Tree Builder for JavaCC -- what JJTree is also meant to be.  With JTB it's infinitely easier to understand, use, maintain and extend resulting systems.  It takes hardly any time to learn.  Literally -- less than an afternoon. (Unbelievable!)"- Sandy Anderson 

    We appreciate the kind words, Sandy.  : ) 

    "I've only been using JTB for a week, but I'm very impressed with how simple the tool is to used. The documentation on your web site is also very informative and only adds to my confidence in the integrity of JTB." - Tim Golding 

    "JTB is a wonderful tool that has made my project much easier (and entirely hidden JavaCC from me - a good thing!)." - Tim Golding 

    "Thank you for having done JTB: it helped me to do in few hours something I would have done in months othervise." - Andrea Gini 

    Completed Questionnaires

    Questionnaires are listed in order from newest to oldest. 

    Date: Sat, 05 Aug 2000
    From: Paul Kinnucan <paulk@mathworks.com>

    Date: Tue, 04 Apr 2000
    From: Duane Buck <dbuck@otterbein.edu>

    Date: Sat, 06 Nov 1999
    From: Michael J. Wirthlin <wirthlin@ee.byu.edu>

    Date: Wed, 21 July 1999 9:02
    From: Keith Knudsen <kknudsen@cerebellumsoft.com>

    Date: Mon, 17 May 1999 16:21
    From: Carlos Rueda <carueda@manizales.autonoma.edu.co>

    Date: Sun, 24 Jan 1999 00:33:40 -0800
    From: Michael Mansell <mmansell@home.com>
    Date: Thu, 18 Jun 1998 17:20:26 -0400 (EDT)
    From: Xin Zhang <xinz@owl.WPI.EDU>

    Date: Fri, 15 May 1998 13:14:30 -0400
    From: "John R. Callahan" <callahan@csee.wvu.edu>

    Date: Mon, 27 Apr 1998 18:52:10 -0700 (PDT)
    From: Matt Howitt <matt.howitt@nmr.varian.com>

    Date: Thu, 23 Apr 1998 21:16:57 -0600
    From: Steve Odendahl <steveo@dimensional.com>
    Date: Wed, 22 Apr 1998 08:37:32 -0600
    From: John Blake <jeblake@ix.netcom.com>

    Date: Wed, 22 Apr 1998 08:09:09 +0200
    From: Okku Touronen <d95kari@dtek.chalmers.se>

    Date: Wed, 22 Apr 1998 00:52:08 -0500
    From: Tim McCune <trm@lib.ksu.edu>

    Date: Tue, 21 Apr 1998 21:29:40 -0700
    From: Stefan Gower <gower@home.com>

    Maintained by Wanjun Wang, wanjun@purdue.edu.
    Created April 29, 1998. 
    Last modified August 6, 2000.