General Chair:
Jens Palsberg (UC Los Angeles, USA)


Program Chairs:
Klaus Havelund (NASA JPL, USA)
Rupak Majumdar (UC Los Angeles, USA)


Program Committee:

Christel Baier (Bonn, Germany)

Dragan Bosnacki (Eindhoven, Netherlands)

Lubos Brim (Brno, Czech)

Stefan Edelkamp (Dortmund, Germany)

Dawson Engler (Stanford, USA)

Kousha Etessami (Edinburgh, UK)

Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)

John Hatcliff (Kansas State Univ., USA)

Gerard Holzmann (NASA JPL, USA)

Franjo Ivančić (NEC, USA)

Sarfraz Khurshid (UT Austin, USA)

Kim Larsen (Aalborg, Denmark)

Madan Musuvathi (Microsoft, USA)

Joel Ouaknine (Oxford, UK)

Corina Pasareanu (NASA Ames, USA)

Doron Peled (Warwick, UK)

Paul Pettersson (Mlardalen, Sweden)

Koushik Sen (Berkeley, USA)

Natasha Sharygina (Lugano, Switzerland)

Eran Yahav (IBM, USA)



Advisory Committee:

Gerard Holzmann (NASA JPL, USA)

Amir Pnueli (Weizmann Inst., Israel)

Moshe Vardi (Rice, USA)


Steering Committee:

Dragan Bosnacki (Eindhoven, Netherlands)

Stefan Edelkamp (Dortmund, Germany)

Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)

Stefan Leue (Konstanz, Germany; chair)

Antti Valmari (Tempere, Finland)

Pierre Wolper (Liege, Belgium)

 SPIN 2008

15th International SPIN Workshop on
Model Checking of Software

August 10-12, 2008, Los Angeles, USA





SPIN 2008 is a forum for practitioners and researchers interested in model-checking based techniques for the validation and analysis of communication protocols and software systems. The workshop will focus on topics including theoretical and algorithmic foundations and tools for software model checking, techniques for dealing with large and infinite state spaces, and applications. The workshop aims to foster interactions and exchanges of ideas with all related areas in software engineering.


SPIN 2008 is the 15th workshop in the series, and will be organized at the University of California, Los Angeles on August 10-12, 2008. As in previous years, the SPIN 2008 Proceedings will be published as Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Springer Verlag.


Submission Instructions


The link for submissions is


Invited Speakers


         Matthew Dwyer (Nebraska): Residual Checking of Safety Properties: Prove what You can and Monitor the Leftovers

         Daniel Jackson (MIT): Increasing Modelling Confidence with Unsat Core

         Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research): Context-bounded Verification of Concurrent Software

         Wolfram Schulte (Microsoft Research): Using Dynamic Symbolic Execution to Improve Deductive Verification

         Yannis Smaragdakis (Oregon): Combining Static and Dynamic Reasoning for the Discovery of Program Properties


Important Dates


April 9, 2008

May 14, 2008

May 28, 2008

August 10-12, 2008

Submission deadline for Papers

Notification of acceptance

Final version of papers due

SPIN 2008 in Los Angeles